International Literacy Day

Today is International Literacy Day. When I was growing up (in Canada), I never thought about people who couldn’t read. I started reading before I started school and my love of reading has grown. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become more aware of people who don’t know how to read or they struggle with reading.

And it’s not just something that affects those who live in less developed countries. There are many people in North America, for example, who can’t read or struggle with reading. As the infographic below shows, it affects most of the world.

Literacy is an important part of our world and it can empower people to be able to change. I’ve learned a lot of things simply from reading and it’s tough to think that I would never have been able to know those things, knowledge I’ve used to better my life, if I hadn’t learned how to read.

Please check out the infographic below and you can read Grammarly’s blog post where it is found at www.grammarly.com/blog/2015/celebrate-international-literacy-day/.

Celebrate International Literacy Day and contribute to improving literacy rates around the world. The literacy rates aren’t just numbers – they are actual people who can’t read this blog post, even if it was translated into every single language. The majority of these people live in poverty and are disempowered.

You may or may not like to “read”, but your life would be drastically different if you couldn’t read. You can choose whether or not to read. For people who can’t read, they have no choice.

Literacy Day

Infographic from www.grammarly.com/plagiarism-checker

Leave a Reply

